July 2006

Arkansas Real Estate Commission
612 South Summit Street
Little Rock AR 72201-4701

Phone 501-683-8010
FAX: 501-683-8020

Administration
arec@arkansas.gov
Investigations
arecinv@arkansas.gov
Licensing
areclic@arkansas.gov

Website:
www.arkansas.gov/arec

Members of the Commission
Doug Smith, Chairman
Little Rock

Roy Rainey, Vice-Chairman
Little Rock

Cliff Goodin
Russellville

Col: Jimmie A. Creech
Pocahontas

Sylvester L. Smith Il
North Little Rock

Commission Staff

Bill J. Williamson
Executive Director

Gary C. Isom
Deputy Executive Director

ARKANSAS
REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

N E W S L E T T E R

New Commissioner Appointed

Colonel Jimmie A. Creech of Pocahontas was
recently appointed by Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee
to complete the unexpired term of Ina Martin-Mobbs until
December 31, 2006. Colonel Creech is a retired U.S.
Marine Corps Colonel with academic and professional
expertise in the fields of electrical engineering, finance and
management, and agriculture. His full military career
spanned 28 years and included three tours in Vietham
between 1961 and 1966. A native of Kentucky, Creech and
his wife Sharleen decided on Randolph County for retire-
ment. The couple resides in Pocahontas, and owns a Col. Jimmie A. Creech
commercial cattle ranch.

Colonel Creech received a BS degree in Electrical Engineering from The Citadel in
1959, and an MS degree in Financial and Material Management at the U. S. Navy Post-
Graduate School in Monterrey, Californiain 1971. His military tenure included a stint at the
command of a Marine Attack Helicopter Squadron, combat experience with the AH-1 and
CH-46, service as Operations Officer of a 107-plane Marine Air Group, and assignment as
a fighter pilot flying the F-8.

His experiences in the military also involved extensive fund management responsi-
bilities. After making full colonel, Creech on one occasion served as Program Manager
negotiating a contract of $2.5 billion, making him responsible for spending and oversight of
roughly one-third of aviation’s Research and Development budget.

In addition to his academic degrees, Creech did graduate work in Aerodynamics at
the U.S. Navy Test Pilot School, and attended the Industrial College of the Armed Forces,
the Program Management Course of the Defense Systems Management College, and the
USMC Command and Staff College. His work in consulting has also required that he stay
current and continue to learn, particularly in the field of technology.

Colonel Creech is a former member of the Arkansas Rural Development
Commission, Black River Technical College Board of Trustees and the Arkansas
Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Thank you Commissioner Martin

Commissioner Ina Martin-Mobbs of Russellville recently resigned because of
health issues. Commissioner Martin served on the Commission from January 16, 1998 to
June 14, 2006 and represented the elderly. We will miss Ina and thank her for her contribu-
tions to the Commission and Industry.

Arkansas State Residential Licensing Law
By Howard Williams, Administrator of the Contractors Licensing Board

In 1999 during the Legislative session Act 950 known as the Arkansas State
Residential Licensing Law was passed and set in place by the appointment of committee
members the first of October 1999. The next few months developed the rules and regula-
tions and the operating process for the Residential Licensing Law.
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CONTRACTORS BOARD - Continued from Page 1

The grandfathering period started July 1, 2000 and ran until July 1, 2001. The original statute had a three home
exemption, which allowed an individual to build three homes in a calendar year without being required to have a
contractor’s license. However, during the Legislative session of 2003 that three home exemption was deleted from the
act and effective mid-August of 2003 there has no longer been a three home exemption.

Any contractor who builds a home for the public, a custom home for an individual, or any home that they are
building, unless it is their personal residence, needs a contractor’s license. An individual can build their personal residence
limited to one per calendar year without a contractor’s license. One of the problems that we find is an individual will go to
the permitting authority and indicate that they are buildin g a home for their personal residence, pull a permit, start the
building, and put a for sale sign out front. Once a for sale sign offering that home to the public is established then that
residential exemption is null and void.

T 'hope this brief explanation is beneficial to the market. For further information, the Contractors Licensing Board

may be contacted by phone at (501) 372-4661 or by going to our website at www.state.ar.us/clb. All written documenta-
tion is available on our website.

F

ROM THE DESK OF
THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR...

Commission Interpretation

Atarecent Commission meeting the Commission reviewed Arkansas Code Annotated §17-42-311 (a)(8) and Regulation 8.3(b)
in response to a question from a Principal Broker regarding payment of commissions. The Principal Broker asked if part of the commis-
sion paid at closing could be paid directly to a licensee by the closing company, rather than to the Principal Broker or firm, if instructed
to do so by the Principal Broker.

Arkansas Code Annotated § 17-42-311. Violations, lists acts, conduct, or practices that are prohibited and any licensee found
guilty shall be subject to disciplinary action. Paragraph (a)(8) of this section states in part, “...accepting a commission or valuable
consideration for the performance of any of the acts specified in this chapter from any person except the licensed principal broker
under whom he or she is licensed.”

Commission Regulation 8.3(b), states in part, “...a licensee shall not accept a commission, rebate, profit, payment, compensa-
tion or other valuable consideration in connection with a real estate transaction or real estate activity from any person or entity except
the licensed principal broker under whom the licensee is licensed.”

Based on the above section of the license law and regulation the Commission’s interpretation of the law and regulation
requires that any commission paid to a licensee be paid by the Principal Broker, not by a third party closing company. So at closing
the commission check should be paid to the Principal Broker’s firm and then the Principal Broker or firm would disburse the part of the
commission due the licensee.

License Law and Commission Regulation Review

The Commission is reviewing the Real Estate License Law and Commission Regulations for update, rewrite and cleanup. If you
have any suggested changes or revision you would like the Commission to consider please send your written suggestions to the
Commission.

License Renewal
Renewal Deadline 9/30/06

It’s time to start thinking about renewing your license for 2007. By the time you receive this newsletter you may
have already received License renewal information. This vear all renewal fees that are mailed in must be paid by
Cashier’s Check or Money Order. No cash, company checks, or personal checks will be accepted. To speed up the
renewal process you may want to try renewing online by using a credit card at AREC’s website: www. arkansas.oov/arec

Renewals are due by 9/30/2006. Any renewal postmarked or received after 9/30/2006 will result in a late fee
payment before your license can be renewed. If you want an active license issued for 2007 make sure you complete 6
hours of CE by 9/30/2006. If you do not provide CE by 9/30/2006 with your renewal, your 2007 license will be renewed as
inactive. To activate a 2007 license renewed as inactive, you must provide proof of completing 6 hours of CE and pay a
$30 fee to activate the license. If you have any questions about renewing your license, call Sandria Smith in the license
department at 501-683-8017 or email Sandria at sandria.smith@arkansas.oov.
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FORMAL

Hearing

The following information is
extracted from Findings of
Fact, Conclusions of Law and
Order, and Consent Orders
issued by the Commission
from February 2006 through
June 2006. Formal Hearing
Decisions that have been
appealed are not listed.

Douglas S. Brasel, Broker,
Jasper, AR: By Consent Order,
Formal Hearing # 3011 the Commis-
sion ordered that “...Respondent
Douglas Brasel’s broker license be,
and it is hereby, revoked effective
immediately, and that Respondent
hereafter shall never apply for or be
granted a real estate license.” That
““...Respondent Brasel shall pay a
monetary penalty of one thousand
dollars ($1,000) to the Commission
to be received within thirty (30) days
from the Date of this Consent Order.”
(2/13/2006)

Elmer Watkins, Broker,
Jonesboro, AR: In Recovery Fund
Hearing #3010 pursuant to Arkan-
sas Code Annotated § 17-42-401 et
seq., the Commission ordered that,
“... Complainant is awarded $10,000
from the Recovery Fund.”

DECISIONS

Earl Dye, Jr., Broker and Rebecca
A. Cooper, Salesperson, Eureka
Springs, AR: In Formal Hearing

#3013 the Commission ordered that
“...Respondent Cooper and Respon-
dent Dye will be issued a letter of
reprimand to be placed in their license
files, and secondly, Respondent
Cooper and Respondent Dye are both
ordered to attend a six (6) hour
Contract Modular IT Salesperson
Post-Licensing course, to be com-
pleted within six (6) months of issuance
of this Order, and that said course will
not be eligible for scholarship funds.”

The Commission found Re-
spondent Earl Dye, Jr. guilty of violat-
ing Commission Regulation 10.4(b)
and Respondent Rebecca A. Cooper
guilty of violating Arkansas Code
Annotated § 17-42-311(a)(13) (Repl.
2001).

Knowing that the roof of the
home that Complainant was consider-
ing purchasing had leaked & had been
repaired subsequent to the sellers’
execution of the Owner Property
Disclosure, Respondent Cooper
delivered an Owner Property Disclo-
sure form to Complainant with a
negative answer to the question,

“Has there ever been a problem
with the roof of any of the improve-
ments on the property, such as

defective shingles, damaged
shingles, leaking or otherwise, or
have you become aware of pos-
sible problems with the roof of any
of the improvements on the prop-
erty that may occur in the fu-

fure?”
Respondent Cooper failed to dis-

close the roof leak and repairs to
Complainant.

Principal Broker Respondent
Dye did not exercise strict supervi-
sion of Respondent Cooper’s real
estate activities. After learning of
the leak and resulting repairs to the
seller’s property, Respondent
Principal Broker Dye did not cause
Respondent Cooper to have the
seller’s update their Owner Prop-
erty Disclosure form or to otherwise
disclose the above described roof
leak and interior repairs to Com-
plainant; Respondent Dye did not
review that disclosure form that
Respondent provided to Complain-
ant to determine whether it had been
updated by the seller to disclose that
the roof had leaked.

A Recovery Fund Hearing
was held pursuant to Arkansas
Code Annotated § 17-42-401 et
seq. The Commission ordered
Respondents Dye and Cooper to
pay Complainant $2,645.50 within
thirty (30) days of the issuance of
the Order.
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Tax RuLes for Foreign Investors
in U.S. Real Property

(This Article was provided by IRS to assist real estate licensees who deal with foreign investors) R e T TR ey

U.S. realtors and rental agents/property managers are encountering an increasing number of situations that involve foreign persons, defined as persons
other than U.S. persons, acquiring U.S. real property. The tax rules governing disposition of any U.S. real property interest by foreign persons vary
in many ways from these that apply to U.S. persons. Understanding the tax laws is critical for real estate professionals to avoid personal liability for
improper U.S. federal income tax compliance.

The disposition of a U.S. real property interest by a foreign person (transferor) is subject to the Foreign Investment in Real Property Tax Act of 1980
(FIRPTA) income tax withholding. FIRPTA authorized the United States for the first time to tax foreign persons on disposition of U.S. Real Property
Interests (USRPI).

A USRPI includes any sale of an interest in parcels of real property, as well as sale of any shares in certain U.S, corporations that are considered U.S.
real property helding corporations. Any purchaser (transferee) of a USRPI from a transferor must withhold ten percent (10%) of the amount realized
and remit such amount to the IRS within 20 days of the date of transfer, using Form 8288 (PDF), and Form 8288-A (PDF).

The transferee of the property must determine if the transferor is a foreign person. If the transferor is a foreign person and withholding does not take
place in accordance with the law, the transferce and the agent may be held liable for the tax.

There are exemptions to the withholding requirements of Internal Revenue Code section 1445. One of the most common exemptions to FIRPTA
withholding is that the transferee does not have to withhold in a situation where the real property is purchased for use as a residence and the purchase
price in not more than $300,000. A listing of the exemptions from FIRPTA withholding is in IRS Publication

515 Withholding of Tax on Nonresident Aliens and Foreign Entities, and at IRS.gov, using “FIRPTA” as a key search word.

In certain situations, such as when the tax due on the transferor’s gain from the sale is less than the withholding, the foreign transferor (or the

transferee) can request from the 1RS a reduction or elimination of withholding. The FIRPTA Withholdingsection on IRS.gov has more information
about reducing the withholding rate.

Withholding on Rental Income paid to a Foreign Person: If a foreign person owns U.S. rental property and receives rental/investment income not
connected with a U.S. business, the renter must withhold a flat rate of 30% (without deductions) of the rents, unless a tax treaty provides a lower rate
or an exemption, Here are some basic rules regarding withholding on rent:

IRC section1441 provides for the withholding of tax paid by a withholding agent to a nonresident alien on various items of income,
including rental income. The person paying rent, as well as the real property manager who collects rent on behalfof a foreign owner, are
considered withholding agents.

The person making payment of U.S. source rents to a foreign person must withhold 30% unless the foreign person claims reduced with-

holding based on a tax treaty (W-8BEN) or makes an irrevocable election with the IRS to treat the income as effectively connected to a U.S.
trade or business (W-8EIC),
Withholding agents must use Form 1042 and 1042 to report the tax withheld.
The requirement to withhold 30% extends to the manager of the rental property if the tenant has not met the 30% withholding. Property
managers who do not comply with these rules will be held liable for 30% of gross rent, plus penalties and interest.

For more information go to: WWW.irs.gov
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