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From the Executive Director’s Desk...
Bill J. Williamson

2009 RENEWAL

By the time you read this article you should have received your 2009 renewal notifica-
tion. The 2009 renewal notification (postcard) has been mailed to each licensee's home
address. The quickest way to renew your license is RENEW ON-LINE. You can pay
your renewal fee with aVisa, MasterCard, Discover, or eCheck and you're done. Y ou
will also be able to print out areceipt for yours and your Principal Broker records.

To renew on-ling, go to AREC's web page WWW.arkansas.gov/arec and click on
RENEW ON-LINE and follow instructions. Last renewal period about 70% of renew-
alswere on-line. Hopefully this renewal will exceed that number. Remember the
deadline to renew for 2009 is September 30, 2008. Renewals received after that date
will be late and you will have to pay an additiond fee.

2009 Fee Schedule

Until September 30 After September 30
Broker $70 $100
Salesperson $50 $70
Duplicate Broker $30 $60

ACTIVE LICENSE RENEWALS cannot be used to transfer, change firm name or firm
address or personal name. If you need to make changes regarding your license, that
requires completion of the appropriate AREC form to make the requested change. You
can not make changes to your current license by renewing your 2009 license.

SIX (6) HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION is arequirement to renew your
license as active. Most education providers report completion of CE to AREC el ectroni-
caly. If you attend a CE course from an education provider that does not report CE to
AREC éectronically, you should mail a copy of the CE certificate received to AREC.

If you renew your license and AREC has no record of completion of CE, by December
31, 2008 your 2009 license will be placed on inactive status. If your 2009 license is
placed on inactive, to activate you will have to furnish proof of completing 6 hours of CE
and pay a $30 fee.

If you choose to renew by paper please send a written request to AREC and arenewal
form will be printed and mailed to you. For paper renewals, payment must be by
cashier’s check, money order, or company check; no persona checks.

Please Renew On-line.

Principal Brokers and Designated Executive Brokers can check to see if individual
licensees with their firms renewed as active for 2009 by checking the 2009 roster
located on the Commission’s web page. The 2009 roster of active licensees will be
updated dally.




FORMAL HEARING DECISIONS

Thefollowing information is
extracted from Findings of
Fact, Conclusions of Law and
Order, and Consent Orders
issued by the Commission
from February 2008 through
May 2008. Formal Hearing
Decisionsthat have been
appealed arenoct listed.

Kaneika S. Hall, Salesperson, Little
Rock, AR: In Formal Hearing # 3051 the
Commission ordered that “...aletter of
reprimand be placed in Respondent
Hall’ slicensefile and that she be placed
on probation, which will run concurrent
with Respondent Hall’ s probation on the
battery charge conviction. Respondent
Hall’ s probation with the Arkansas Real
Estate Commission will be revoked if
Respondent’ s probation on the criminal
conviction isrevoked, even on a
technical violation. Respondent Hall will
be under continuing order to keep the
Executive Director of the Arkansas Real
Estate Commission informed of her
probationary status. And, the condition
that Respondent Hall give notice to her
current broker and any successor broker
of the conditions the Commission has
placed upon her.”

The Commission found Respondent
Hall guilty of violating Arkansas Code
Annotated § 17-42-311(a)(3).

Respondent Hall’ s conviction isacrime
involving afelony conviction, whichisa
ground for disciplinary action.

Erick Martin, Salesperson, Little Rock,
AR: By Consent Order, In Formal
Hearing # 3052 the Commission ordered
that “...Respondent Erick Martin’sreal
estate salesperson license is hereby
revoked.”

The Commission found Respondent
guilty of violating Arkansas Code
Annotated § 17-42-311(a)(11) & (13).

Respondent entered Complainant’s
unoccupied home that was listed, and
was video taped searching through

“private areas’ without complainant’s
knowledge or authorization.

Respondent’ s conduct described
above constitutes improper conduct.
Because of Respondent’s conduct
described above, he is unworthy to act
as areal estate salesperson in such a
manner as to safeguard the interest of
the public.

Brandy Thomas, Salesper son, Little Rock,
AR: By Consent Order, In Formal Hearing #
3050 the Commission ordered that
“...Respondent Brandy Thomas shall
receive a L etter of Reprimand to be placed
in her licensefile, pay a$500 penalty to the
Arkansas Real Estate Commission, and
complete (six) 6 classroom hours of real
estate education, approved in advance by
the Executive Director. Said education shall
be in addition to the annual Continuing
Education requirement. The $500 penalty
and six (6) classroom hours of real estate
education shall be completed within 90 days
of the date of this Order. Respondent shall
be placed on probation for one (1) year from
the date of this Order.”

The Commission found Respondent
Brandy Thomas guilty of violating
Commission Regulations 8.5(a) and 10.1(b),
and Arkansas Code Annotated § 17-42-
311(8)(13).

Respondent Thomas engaged in real
estate activities independent of her
principal broker. Respondent prepared and
presented the February 28, 2007 VA red
estate contract without her Principal
Broker’s permission or knowledge.
Respondent attempted to have the February
28, 2007 VA contract transferred to her new
firm without her Principal Broker's
knowledge or permission. Respondent
signed the February 28, 2007 VA contract as
“Principal Broker or Authorized Signature’
without her Principal Broker’s permission or
knowledge.

Respondent did not protect and promote
theinterest of Buyer. Respondent
instructed Buyer to sign the March 6, 2007
VA contract identifying Respondent’ s new
real estate firm asthe Selling firm, knowing
that the February 28, 2007 VA contract

signed by Buyer, identifying her
previous Principal Broker’sreal estate
firm asthe Selling firm had previously
been accepted by VA and that the
Exclusive Buyer Agency Agreement
between Buyer and her previous
Principal Broker's firmwasin force.
Respondent’ s activities as described
above constitute improper dealings.

Matthew J. Riordan. Salesperson, Little
Rock, AR: In Formal hearing # 3048 the
Commission ordered that “ ... Respondent
Riordan isto pay afine of $500 per
violation, for atotal of $3,000, and isto
serve two years on probation, during
which time he cannot hold a broker’s
license. Respondent Riordan isto be
issued a L etter of Reprimand to be
placed in hislicensefile. If, during his
probationary period, Respondent
Riordan isfound guilty of any violation
before the Arkansas Real Estate
Commission, then hislicense will be
automatically suspended for a duration
to be determined at that time.”

The Commission found Respondent
Riordan guilty of violating
Commission Regulations 8.4, 8.5(a),
10.1(b), 10.11, 10.13(a), and Arkansas
Code Annotated § 17-42-311(a)(13).

Respondent did not disclose his
agency relationship in the “ Standard
Real Estate Purchase and Sale
Agreement.”

Respondent did not protect and
promote the Complainant’ s interest.
Respondent negotiated a short sale on
behalf of Complainant, knowing that
Complainant had executed an Exclusive
Right to Sell Agreement with the listing
firm without advising Complainant to
consult with an Attorney concerning his
contractual responsibilities.

Respondent prepared the “ Standard
Real Estate Purchase and Sale
Agreement” and attempted to negotiate a
short sale with Complainant independent
of hisPrincipal Broker.
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FORMAL HEARING DECISIONS

Continued

Respondent did not disclose in writing in
The Real Estate Contract, or any other
document, that the buyers, the Respondent
and Virgil Brown held real estate licenses.

Respondent did not contact any one with
the listing firm to obtain prior permission to
negotiate a short sale with Complainant.
Respondent did not present the offer
signed by Buyer, on the contract “ Standard
Real Estate Purchase and Sale Agreement”
or the offer Respondent prepared as Buyer
on the Re/Max Realty Real Estate Contract,
to thelisting firm.

Respondent’ s conduct constitutes
improper dealings.

A Recovery Fund Hearing was held.
Respondent was ordered to pay
Complainant $500 within 30 days of this
Order.

FrancisO’Brien, Salesperson, Daniel
Platt, Principal Broker, Mountain Home,
AR: In Formal Hearing # 3054 the
Commission ordered that “ ... Respondent
O’ Brien must complete a minimum of 18
hours of continuing education, to be
approved by the Executive Director. This
will not qualify as continuing education.
The time for completing these hours will be
determined by the Executive Director. A
Letter of Reprimand will be placed in
Respondent O’ Brien’slicensefile.”

The Commission found Respondent
O’ Brien guilty of violating Commission
Regulation 8.5(a).

Respondent O’ Brien did not protect and
promote the interest of Complainant. He
did not determine whether Tract V had
been surveyed and that the rear property
line marked, asrequired by the Real Estate
Contract. Hedid not verify the location of
Tract V to ensurethat the property
Complainant viewed and the property on
which the perk test was conducted was
Tract V.

The Commission ordered that
“...Respondent Platt pay afine of $200 to
the Arkansas Real Estate Commission. A
Letter of Reprimand will be placed in
Respondent Platt’s licensefile. If
Respondent Platt returnsto Arkansas and

reactivates his primary broker’ s license,
he must compl ete a minimum of 18 hours
of principal broker education, to be
approved by the Executive Director.
Those hours cannot count as continuing
education.”

The Commission found Respondent
Platt guilty of violating Commission
Regulation 10.4(d)(2).

Respondent Principal Broker Platt did
not ensure that the closing was
conducted in accordance with the
agreement of the Complainants and
Sellers. The Real Estate Contract
required that “ A new certified survey, ina
form satisfactory to Buyer, certified to
Buyer within (30) days prior to closing by
aregistered land surveyor, will be
provided and paid for by the Seller”, and
stated “ Show Property Line on Rear of
Property.” No new survey was ordered
or provided nor was the property line
marked.

A Recovery Fund Hearing was held.
Respondent O’ Brien was order to pay
Complainants $1,300 in a period not to
exceed thirty (30) days.

CharlesM. Stout, Broker, Conway, AR:
By Consent Order, in Formal Hearing #
3055 the Commission ordered that
“...Respondent Charles M. Stout shall
receive a Letter of Reprimand to be
placed in hislicense file, pay a$1,000
penalty to the Arkansas Real Estate
Commission, within 90 days of the date
of this Order. Respondent shall be
placed on probation for one (1) year from
the date of this Order.”

The Commission found Respondent
Stout guilty of violating Commission
Regulation 10.10, and Arkansas Code
Annotated § 17-42-311(a)(7)(13).

Respondent committed acts, which
involve moral turpitude. Respondent did
not make written report to the
Commission of his pleaof nolo
contendere within thirty days.
Respondents negative response on the
2008 online renewal application question,
“Have you been convicted or plead
guilty or nolo contendere to any crime

other than a traffic violation that you
have not reported to AREC asrequired
by Regulation 10.16?"

Respondent’ s conduct constitutes
improper and dishonest conduct.

Dale Murphy, Principal Broker and
Danny Mays, Salesperson, Cherokee
Village, ARInFormal Hearing # 3057 the
Commission ordered that “ ... Respondent
Murphy’s Arkansas Real Estate Broker’s
License be revoked and a penalty as-
sessed of $1,000, payable within thirty
(30) days.” The Commission ordered that
“...Respondent Mays' Arkansas Real
Estate Salesperson License be sus-
pended for a period of two (2) years. If
Respondent Mays desires to reinstate, he
must have amanagement plan that is
agreed to by the principal broker and must
be approved by the Executive Director.
Respondent Maysis prohibited from
having a broker’s license for a period of
five (5) years.”

The Commission found Respondent
Murphy guilty of violating Commission
Regulations 8.5(a), 10.4(b), 10.8(g)(2) and
ACA §17-42-311(a)(6)(13).

The Commission found Respondent
Mays guilty of violating Commission
Regulations 8.5(a), 10.8(g)(2)(3) and ACA
§ 17-42-311(a)(6)(13).

Respondents did not protect and
promote the interest of Complainant.
Respondents did not provide Complainant
an accounting for security deposits and
rents received and expenses paid or any
account balance concerning
Complainant’s property.

Respondents did not remit or account for
$2,500 sent by Complainant to Respon-
dent Maysto cover the cost of the Land-
scaping job to Complainant’s property.

Respondent Murphy did not exercise
strict supervision of Respondent Mays
property management activities.

Respondent Murphy and Respondent
Mays did not insure that the Rentals
Escrow account bank statements were
reconciled in writing monthly and
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balanced to the total amount of trust
funds deposited in the account which had
not been disbursed.

Respondent Mays refused to cooperate
and provide sufficient accounting and
bank records to Commission Investigator
for the Complainant’ s property and to
complete an office examination.

Respondents conduct as described
above constitute improper dealing.

A Recovery Fund Hearing was held.
Respondent Murphy was ordered to pay
$4,259.70 to Complainant in a period not to
exceed thirty (30) days. Respondent
Mays was ordered to pay $1,064.92 to
Complainant in a period not to exceed
thirty (30) days.
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INVESTIGATOR COMMENTS

The following issues were noted by AREC Investigators while conducting office
examinations.

1. Trust account bank statements were not reconciled monthly or were not
being reconciled to the balance of trust funds collected that were not
disbursed (i.e. earnest money, rents, and security deposits). Regul ation
10.8(g)(2). The monthly Trust Account bank statement balance, check
register balance, and clients moneys deposited into the trust account that
have not been disbursed must be the same.

2. Principal brokers alow licensees to manage personal rental property and
hold security depositsin thelicensees’ separate accounts, without
requiring the licensees to obtain written agreements with tenants authoriz-
ing the licensees to keep the security depositsin the licensees account.
Regulation 10.8 (h)(1). The principal broker must maintain a copy of the
agreement.

3. Trust accounts were moved to another bank or closed without notifying
the AREC. Regulation 10.8 (f).

4. Earnest money was not disbursed from the trust account because the
partiesto the real estate contract would not agree in writing regarding who
should receive the earnest money. Principal brokers can not refuse to
disburse trust funds because one or both of the partiesrefusesto sign an
agreement. Regulation 10.9(c) provides aprincipal broker alist of options
regarding how to disburse trust funds. A principal broker who disburses
trust funds from the trust account under the circumstances listed in
Regulation 10.9(c) shall be deemed by the Commission to have fulfilled the
broker’ s duty to account for and remit trust funds. If a principal broker
makes a disbursement to which all parties have not agreed, the principal
broker must immediately notify all partiesin writing of the disbursement.

1 If you have any questions about the above Regulation requirements or any other
| License Law or Regulations, please contact AREC Investigations.
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